Rhine Agreement

This agreement still governs the principles of navigation on the Rhine today. The Member States are currently Belgium, France, Germany, the Netherlands and Switzerland. [4] 1. As soon as this Agreement enters into force and independently of paragraphs 2 and 3, the following agreements shall be denounced: the Commission has also examined the simplification of customs formalities. It intervened with the military authorities for the removal of military bridges that obstructed navigation. Cooperation developed with other international organizations, in particular with the Ecsc High Authority and then with the European Commission. Specific agreements have been concluded on working conditions and social security schemes for boatmen on the Rhine. From a legal point of view, the Commission`s authority derives from the agreements concluded at the Congress of Vienna, which took place in 1815 after the Napoleonic Wars. The first meeting took place on 15 August 1816 in Mainz. In 1831 the Convention of Mainz was adopted, which laid down a number of the first laws for the navigation of the Rhine. In 1861, the seat of the Commission was transferred to Mannheim and the Mannheim Convention was adopted on 17 October 1868. `Rhine` means the Rhine from the runoff from the subsal and, in the Netherlands, the Bovenrijn, Bijlands Kanaal, Pannerdensch Kanaal, IJssel, Nederrijn, Lek, Waal, Boven-Merwede, Beneden-Merwede, Noord, Oude Maas, Nieuwe Maas and Scheur branches and the Nieuwe Waterweg to the baseline within the meaning of Article 5, in conjunction with Article 11 of the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea, Ketelmeer and IJsselmeer. In the light of the work carried out within the framework of the Convention of 29 April 1963 on the International Commission for the Protection of the Rhine against Pollution and the Supplementary Agreement of December 1976, 2.

Decisions, recommendations, limit values and other agreements concluded on the basis of the Convention of 29 April 1963 on the International Commission for the Protection of the Rhine against Pollution, the Additional Agreement of 3 December 1976 and the Agreement of 3 December 1976 on the Protection of the Rhine against Chemical Pollution shall remain applicable without any change in their legal nature, as long as the Commission does not expressly delete them. 4. The abstention of a delegation shall not preclude unanimity. This does not apply to the Delegation of the European Community. The absence of delegation is considered an abstention. (c) non-governmental organisations with regard to their interests or tasks. 5. The internal rules may provide for a written procedure. 3. The apportionment of the costs of the annual budget in accordance with Article 12 of the Convention of 29 The International Commission for the Protection of the Rhine against Pollution, as amended by the Supplementary Agreement of 3 December 1976, shall remain in force until the Commission has fixed an allocation in its internal and financial procedures. . .